| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

View
 

Executive

Page history last edited by Barb Lepp 2 years, 11 months ago

 

 

The Pembina Escarpment Reading Council Executive

 

2018 - 2019

 

  
 Position
Name 
Email Address 
President 
Mary Reimer
mreimer@prsdmb.ca 
Past President

Barbara Penner

bpenner775@gmail.com
Past President

Lisa Carlson

lcarlson@prsdmb.ca 
Secretary  Suzanne Godard 

sgodard@prsdmb.ca

Treasurer

Darlene Keith

Dkeith@westernsd.mb.ca
Membership Chair

Tara Janzen

tarandtim@mymts.net
Member at Large Christine Wolf
cwolf@prsdmb.ca 
Member at Large Heather Armstrong
lady.library@gmail.com
Member at Large Deanne Kuehn

dkuehn@prspirit.org

Member at Large Angela Mills amills@plpsd.mb.ca
ILA Provincial Co-ordinator Barb Lepp barb.lepp1@gmail.com

 

 


The Pembina Escarpment Reading Council (PERC) was chartered by the International Reading Association (now the International Literacy Association) as a Regional Council.  With wonderful assistance from the Manitoba Reading Association and the  International Association, the PERC executive members were successful in establishing a Board of ten people and a membership of over 20 people – both of which were necessary in the chartering process. Since that time, the membership has grown.  Carol Hryniuk-Adamov, Manitoba’s IRA representative, and Susan Barnaby, MRA president, were very helpful in the establishment of PERC, and the executive sends out a huge thank-you to them.

 

PERC has set goals that will drive the council’s activities.  These goals are as follows:
  • To promote the love of reading
  • To promote and improve literacy for all
  • To celebrate the connections between learning, literacy, and life
  • To connect with ILA, MRA, and other local Manitoba councils
  • To provide a venue for community literacy advocates to partner as one voice
  • To provide an avenue for regional educators to learn and grow as literacy instructors
  • To be a source of excellent professional development that matches research and practice in the area of literacy

 

PERC held a launching event - “Literacy 1 to 110” on February 22nd in the beautiful Winkler library.

 

 

If you are interested in becoming a member of PERC, please download a membership form, and send the form with a $15 membership fee to: 

 P.E.R.C.  c/o  Louise Duncan

 Prairie Rose School Division

Box 1510

Carman, MB R0G 0J0

 

And remember:  Every Manitoban – a literate Manitoban.

 

 

 

 

Consider joining the International Literal Association. Here are 10 Reasons to Join. Check them out on the web at http://www.literacyworldwide.org/ 

 

 

 

PERC Brochure 2011 final.pdf

 

   

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.